Hobart University of Tasmania

University Faculties, Schools and Departments
(Hobart, Tasmania - TAS, Australia)

Hobart University has six faculties comprising 52 schools and centres. Each unit has access to state-of-the-art laboratories and is wired to a central information resource centre at the university library, which connects nine specialized libraries. The cental library has a digital thesis collection - one of the few in the world. All the thesis's submitted by both students and professors are converted to portable document format (PDF) for easier searching and archiving. Each specialized library has strong links to other universities and organisations in their field, promoting information sharing and establishing steady learning communities.

The university has several laboratories designed for specific fields of study. There are specialised laboratories for aerodynamics, mechatronics, communications engineering, and other scientific research fields. The journalism, media, and communications departments have advanced audio and video equipment, production studios, and radio and TV stations, which are used both for instruction and university broadcasts.

Hobart University has open lawns ideal for celebrations and concerts, usually organized by students. There are also a lot of outstanding sports facilities and sports clubs in the university.

The University has a strong focus on the liberal arts, but it offers a wide range of programmes and courses in different fields. The six faculties offer instruction in the arts, business, education, health, science, and law.

Faculty of Arts
  • Conservatorium of Music
  • Riawunna (a centre for Aboriginal studies)
  • School of Asian Languages and Studies
  • School of English, Journalism and European Languages
  • School of Government
  • School of History and Classics
  • School of Philosophy
  • School of Sociology and Social Work
  • School of Visual and Performing Arts
  • Tasmanian School of Art

Faculty of Business
  • School of Accounting and Finance
  • School of Economics
  • School of Information Systems
  • School of Management

Faculty of Education
  • School of Education

Faculty of Health Science
  • School of Human Life Sciences
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Nursing and Midwifery
  • Tasmanian School of Pharmacy
  • Rural Clinical School
  • Department of Rural Health
  • Menzies Research Institute

Faculty of Law
  • Centre for Legal Studies
  • School of Law

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology
  • ARC Centre of Excellence in Ore Deposits
  • Marine Research Laboratories
  • School of Agricultural Science
  • School of Aquaculture
  • School of Architecture
  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Computing
  • School of Earth Sciences
  • School of Engineering
  • School of Geography and Environmental Studies
  • School of Mathematics and Physics
  • School of Plant Science
  • School of Psychology
  • School of Zoology

Hobart University

I'm looking for: